UHS Nursing Seats Punjab Rise by 1,100
UHS nursing seats Punjab rise by 1,100 evening places at 18 public-sector nursing colleges, after the University of Health Sciences Lahore approved the expansion at its 96th Syndicate meeting. The meeting was chaired by Vice Chancellor Maj Gen (R) Prof Dr Sohail Sabir, and the new seats will widen admission capacity for nursing education across the province.
The same meeting approved five new PhD programmes and a lower entry threshold for BS Allied Health Sciences courses. Taken together, the decisions open more doors at both ends of health education: more undergraduate nursing places, easier entry to allied health degrees, and new doctoral options for graduates who want to teach and research.
UHS nursing seats Punjab: what the Syndicate approved
The 1,100 additional seats are evening seats in nursing programmes at 18 public-sector nursing colleges. Evening seats matter because they use existing college buildings and staff outside daytime hours, so capacity can grow without waiting for new campuses. The university has not yet published a college-by-college breakdown, and it has not said when the additional seats will become available.
Alongside the seats, the Syndicate approved five new PhD programmes in Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health, Oral Biology and Medical Laboratory Sciences. It also approved a dedicated Department of Regenerative Medicine, which will offer MPhil and PhD programmes. Revised curricula for postgraduate, Allied Health Sciences, PharmD and postgraduate dental programmes were approved as well, along with changes to admission-test requirements and eligibility criteria for selected MPhil and PhD programmes.
Lower entry threshold for allied health degrees
The Syndicate reduced the minimum Higher Secondary School Certificate marks requirement for four-year BS Allied Health Sciences programmes from 60 percent to 50 percent, in line with Higher Education Commission policy. Students with at least 50 percent marks in HSSC will now meet the minimum academic threshold, subject to other admission requirements.
That change will matter most for students in districts where HSSC scores run lower, often because of weaker school facilities rather than weaker ability. A 10-point cut does not guarantee admission, since merit lists and entry tests still apply, but it lets more students enter the competition. The university has not specified an implementation date for the revised requirement, so applicants should wait for the formal UHS notification before assuming the new threshold applies to the next admission round.
For Punjab’s health system, the package points in one direction. More nurses in training, more allied health graduates and more doctoral researchers all feed the same pipeline, from hospital wards to teaching posts. Feature Pakistan has covered Punjab’s medical education pipeline before, and the UHS decisions add undergraduate capacity to a system that has been expanding postgraduate training.
Frequently asked questions
How many new nursing seats did UHS approve?
UHS approved 1,100 additional evening seats in nursing programmes across 18 public-sector nursing colleges in Punjab.
What changed in BS Allied Health Sciences admission?
The minimum HSSC marks requirement fell from 60 percent to 50 percent, in line with Higher Education Commission policy.
Which new PhD programmes were approved?
Five PhD programmes were approved, in Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health, Oral Biology and Medical Laboratory Sciences, plus a new Department of Regenerative Medicine offering MPhil and PhD programmes.
When do these changes take effect?
UHS has not specified implementation dates for the new seats, the revised threshold or the new PhD admissions. Applicants should wait for formal UHS notifications.
Source: ProPakistani, ProPakistani and ProPakistani.




